The Victorian Certificate of Education (VCE) is a single certificate requiring students to satisfactorily complete at least 16 units of study. The VCE is a two year course that is normally undertaken in years 11 and 12 of secondary school.

The VCE subjects are known as Studies. They can be selected from two broad areas, these being:

  • Arts/Humanities, and
  • Maths/Science/Technology

Each VCE Study consists of 4 units which are completed over 2 years with each unit representing one semester’s work. Each unit consists of at least 50 hours of class time.

· Units 1 and 2 are studied in year 11

· Units 3 and 4 are studied in year 12 as a sequence (both units must be completed in the same year)

Entry into the VCE

There are no specific requirements for entry into Units 1 and 2 which are generally studied at a year 11 level. Unit 3 may be undertaken without having completed Units 1 and 2; however, in some studies it is advisable to have completed Units 1 and 2 before attempting Unit 3. Unit 3 must be completed before undertaking Unit 4.

Completing the VCE

To be awarded the VCE, students must satisfactorily complete at least 16 units. The 16 units must include:

· at least three units of English

· at least three sequences of Units 3 and 4 studies other than English